Sewing

Purple Princess Bikini πŸ‘™

I have been waiting to my official “blog writing” day to share the adventures I had over the weekend! I had what I would call a sewing epiphany! I was looking over things that I want to make. I have a list for 2019 and one thing I noticed was missing was under garments. I had briefly thought about making some last year and then didn’t think about it anymore.

Well, on Sunday morning it came back to me. I was thinking of the two well known stores for ladies under garments and how much money they get from sooo many women. I also thought of how it’s still a challenge to have something fit me properly even with the huge expense it costs to buy our items.

Then I thought about years ago in my twenties I actually paid for someone to make me custom under garments. Yep, I did. I was working a lot had no big bills except my car and apartment. That’s it. I worked because I am not a party girl and figured I might as well use my free time to work more jobs and be productive for my future,saving up money for emergencies and investments.

That being said that explains why I had the money to get them! I remember the excitement of picking out my fabric at the shop and the girl telling me when I could pick up my panties. They were the best! I still have them. After all if you pay good money for custom underwear you don’t through them away!

So back to Sunday, I had decided that I should make my own. If I can sew complicated items with lots of pieces and zippers and all that why couldn’t I make my own panties? Well I did! I took a pair that I like how they fit and next you know I have cut out a paper pattern and cut out the fabric and sewed them up in a couple of hours!

I think they will work quite well since I wore them most of Sunday! I want to make them again and make a matching top. The pattern will work well as a bikini. SOOOOO this week I set out to make a top to match the bottom!

Yesterday, my husband and I went to Hobby Lobby and found some cute fabric. I have never sewn with any of their fabric. So today I will pre-wash it and see how it looks and hopefully soon I will have a new bikini set or  at least a prototype! I can’t wait! I’ll keep you all posted on what happens!

Happy Creating,

Monica

Leave a comment